Pro Golfer Phil Mickelson goes Vegan!

6 Sep

Phil Mickelson dropped a two-pronged bombshell at a Tuesday pre-PGA Championship press conference.  Mickelson says he’s been battling psoriatic arthritis since right before the US Open two months ago, and he turned vegetarian shortly thereafter.  Mickleson said at times the arthritis left him unable to move, but he believes it’s now completely under control and won’t affect his play or his life.But why’d he go vegetarian?  “No, this wasn’t recommended by a doctor,” Mickelson told open-mouthed reporters. “I read a book and just thought maybe it will help.”

So what has he been eating? “Just been a lot of fruits and vegetables and some whole grain wheats and pastas and stuff,” said the world’s greatest lefthanded vegetarian arthritic golfer. “And it’s actually been great. I’ve eaten some great stuff. Foods that I’ve always avoided I get to eat and it’s been good.”

Is this permanent?

As long as I believe that there’s a possibility that it will help me overall, yeah, I’ll continue to do that. If it will somehow keep this in remission or stop it from coming back, yeah, I’ll be able to do it. But I haven’t been put to the real test. The real test is driving by a Five Guys and not stopping. I don’t know if I can do that yet, but we’ll see.

Mickelson finished T-4 at the US Open and T-5 the week before at The Memorial.  Then as his body had to fight through meat deprivation, and to a lesser extent arthritis, his game has suffered.  He finished T-48 at both The British Open and the WGC-Bridgestone-Invitational.  That speaks for itself, doesn’t it?

Phil, you’re in Wisconsin, go get some bratwurst.

Sourced from vegsource.com

Leave a Reply

